Middle East

Fobbit

Fobbit

Abrams, David
Fobbit \'fä-bit\, noun. Definition: A U.S. soldier stationed at a Forward Operating Base who avoids combat by remaining at the base, esp. during Operation Iraqi Freedom (2003-2011)....
September 4, 2012
Paperback
Grove Press, Black Cat
384 Pages
$15.00
The Language of Baklava: A Memoir

Diana Abu-Jaber's vibrant, humorous memoir weaves together delicious food memories that illuminate the two cultures of her childhood--American and Jordanian. Here are stories of being raised by a...

March 14, 2006
Paperback
Anchor Books
352 Pages
$16.95
The Wandering Falcon

The Wandering Falcon

Ahmad, Jamil
For readers of Khaled Hosseini, Daniyal Mueenuddin, and Mohsin Hamid, a story set among the mountain tribes of Pakistan and Afghanistan.

In this extraordinary tale, Tor Baz, the young boy...

October 2, 2012
Paperback
Riverhead Books
$16.00
The Karachi Kitchen (None)
From the Arabian Sea to the peaks of the Himalayas, cuisine in Karachi is as diverse as its inhabitants and draws influences from across South, Central, and West Asia. The local food is bold in...
November 1, 2017
Hardcover
Nebulous Arts, LLC
112 Pages
$29.95
In the Land of Invisible Women: A Female Doctors Journey in the Saudi Kingdom

A strikingly honest look into Islamic culture?--in particular women and Islam?--and what it takes for one woman to...

September 1, 2008
Paperback
Sourcebooks
$17.99
Earth Weeps, Saturn Laughs

Earth Weeps, Saturn Laughs

Al Farsi, Abdulaziz
Earth Weeps, Saturn Laughs opens with the return of Khalid Bakhit, a government employee, to his hometown in Oman after a time away in the big city, and concludes with his return to the city with a...
February 15, 2013
Paperback
American University in Cairo Press
240 Pages
$17.95
The Baghdad Clock

The Baghdad Clock

Al Rawi, Shahad ; Leafgren, Lu
A HEART-RENDING TALE OF TWO GIRLS GROWING UP IN WAR-TORN BAGHDAD

Baghdad, 1991. The Gulf War is raging. Two girls, hiding in an air raid shelter, tell stories to keep the fear and the...

May 14, 2019
Paperback
ONEWorld Publications
266 Pages
$16.95
The Others

The Others

Al-Herz, Seba
A best-selling book when it appeared in Arabic, The Others is a literary tour de force, offering a window into one of the most repressive societies in the world. Seba al-Herz tells the story of a...
September 1, 2009
Paperback
Seven Stories Press
320 Pages
$17.95
The Girl Who Fell to Earth

The Girl Who Fell to Earth

Al-Maria, Sophia

Award-winning filmmaker and writer Sophia Al-Maria's The Girl Who Fell to Earth is a funny and wry coming-of-age memoir about growing up in between American and Gulf Arab cultures. With...

November 27, 2012
Paperback
Harper Perennial
$14.99
Muniras Bottle: A Saudi Arabian Novel
In Riyadh, against the events of the second Gulf War and Saddam's invasion of Kuwait, we learn the story of Munira--with the gorgeous eyes--and the unspeakable tragedy she suffers as her male...
June 30, 2014
Paperback
American University in Cairo Press
224 Pages
$16.95

New Arrivals

Leviathan Falls
Back to Japan: The Life and Art of Master Kimono Painter Kunihiko Moriguchi
Interim
Havana Year Zero
Born of No Woman
Monster in the Middle
Colorization: One Hundred Years of Black Films in a White World
Certain Hunger
Loneliest Americans
Sandor Katz's Fermentation Journeys: Recipes, Techniques, and Traditions from Around the World