Middle East

Rose Water and Orange Blossoms: Fresh & Classic Recipes from My Lebanese Kitchen
Pomegranates and pistachios. Floral waters and cinnamon. Bulgur wheat, lentils, and succulent lamb. These lush flavors of Maureen Abood's childhood, growing up as a Lebanese-American in Michigan,...
April 28, 2015
Hardcover
$32.00
The Language of Baklava: A Memoir

Diana Abu-Jaber's vibrant, humorous memoir weaves together delicious food memories that illuminate the two cultures of her childhood--American and Jordanian. Here are stories of being raised by a...

March 14, 2006
Paperback
Anchor Books
$16.95
Return of Faraz Ali

Return of Faraz Ali

Ahmad, Aamina
Sent back to his birthplace--Lahore's notorious red-light district--to hush up the murder of a girl, a man finds himself in an unexpected reckoning with his past.

Not...

April 5, 2022
Hardcover
Riverhead Books
$27.00
The Wandering Falcon

The Wandering Falcon

Ahmad, Jamil
For readers of Khaled Hosseini, Daniyal Mueenuddin, and Mohsin Hamid, a story set among the mountain tribes of Pakistan and Afghanistan.

In this extraordinary tale, Tor Baz, the young boy...

October 2, 2012
Paperback
Riverhead Books
256 Pages
$16.00
The Karachi Kitchen (None)
From the Arabian Sea to the peaks of the Himalayas, cuisine in Karachi is as diverse as its inhabitants and draws influences from across South, Central, and West Asia. The local food is bold in...
November 1, 2017
Hardcover
Nebulous Arts, LLC
112 Pages
$29.95
Naked Don't Fear the Water: An Underground Journey with Afghan Refugees

A NYTBR Editor's Choice

"This is a book of radical empathy, crossing many borders - not just borders that separate nations, but also borders of form, borders of meaning,...

February 15, 2022
Hardcover
$27.99
Homeland Elegies

Homeland Elegies

Akhtar, Ayad
This "beautiful novel . . . has echoes of The Great Gatsby": an immigrant father and his son search for belonging--in post-Trump America, and with each other (Dwight Garner...
May 25, 2021
Paperback
Back Bay Books
$16.99
Earth Weeps, Saturn Laughs

Earth Weeps, Saturn Laughs

Al Farsi, Abdulaziz
Earth Weeps, Saturn Laughs opens with the return of Khalid Bakhit, a government employee, to his hometown in Oman after a time away in the big city, and concludes with his return to the city with a...
February 15, 2013
Paperback
American University in Cairo Press
$17.95
The Baghdad Clock

The Baghdad Clock

Al Rawi, Shahad ; Leafgren, Lu
Shortlisted for the International Prize for Arabic Fiction 2018

This number one best-selling title in Iraq, Dubai, and the UAE is a heart-rending tale of two girls growing up in war-...

May 14, 2019
Paperback
ONEWorld Publications
$16.95

New Arrivals

Afterlives
Hell of a Book
Thousand Crimes of Ming Tsu
Immense World: How Animal Senses Reveal the Hidden Realms Around Us
Horse
Tracy Flick Can't Win
Two Wheels Good: The History and Mystery of the Bicycle
Undelivered: The Never-Heard Speeches That Would Have Rewritten History
Books of Jacob
How to Be Perfect: The Correct Answer to Every Moral Question