Czech Republic

The Other City

The Other City

Ajvaz, Michal ; Turner, Gerald

In this strange and lovely hymn to Prague, Michal Ajvaz repopulates the city of Kafka with ghosts, eccentrics, talking animals, and impossible statues, all lurking on the peripheries of a town so...

June 11, 2009
Paperback
Dalkey Archive Press
$14.95
Prague Winter: A Personal Story of Remembrance and War, 1937-1948

Drawing on her own memory, her parents' written reflections, interviews with contemporaries, and newly-available documents, former US Secretary of State and New York Times...

February 19, 2013
Paperback
Harper Perennial
$16.99
Prague Stories

Prague Stories

Bassett, Richard
A gorgeously jacketed hardcover anthology of stories set in Prague, by an international array of brilliant writers.

The Golden City of Prague has long been an intellectual center of the...

October 20, 2020
Hardcover
Everyman's Library
$17.00
Prague in Black and Gold

Prague in Black and Gold

Demetz, Peter

Prague is at the core of everything both wonderful and terrible in Western history, but few people truly understand this city's unique culture. In Prague in Black and Gold, Peter Demetz...

March 18, 1998
Paperback
Farrar, Strauss & Giroux-3pl
$29.00
The Prague Cemetery

The Prague Cemetery

Eco, Umberto ; Dixon, Richard
The Prague Cemetery is the #1 international bestseller from the award-winning and New York Times best-selling author of The Name of the Rose, Umberto Eco....
September 4, 2012
Paperback
Harpervia
464 Pages
$18.99
The Last Palace: Europes Turbulent Century in Five Lives and One Legendary House
A sweeping yet intimate narrative about the last hundred years of turbulent European history, as seen through one of Mitteleuropa's greatest houses--and the lives of its occupants

When...

September 3, 2019
Paperback
Crown Publishing Group (NY)
$18.00
Movement

Movement

Hlová, Petra

In this utopia, the feminist Movement has been successful and women rule the world. Men are trained at reeducation facilities to accept the new normal in this futuristic satire challenging our...

October 12, 2021
Paperback
World Editions
320 Pages
$16.99
Open Letters: Selected Writings, 1965-1990
The twenty-five years' worth of essays, letters, interviews and reportage colected in this volume portay Vaclav Havel's evolution from a modestly known playwright with the courage to criticize a...
June 2, 1992
Paperback
Vintage
432 Pages
$16.95
I Served the King of England

I Served the King of England

Hrabal, Bohumil ; Wilson, Paul
First published in 1971 in a typewritten edition, then finally printed in book form in 1989, I Served the King of England is an extraordinary and subtly tragicomic novel (The New York...
May 31, 2007
Paperback
New Directions Publishing Corporation
241 Pages
$15.95
The Lights of Prague

The Lights of Prague

Jarvis, Nicole
For readers of VE Schwab and The Witcher, science and magic clash in atmospheric gaslight-era Prague.

In the quiet streets of Prague all manner of mysterious...

May 25, 2021
Paperback
Titan Books (UK)
416 Pages
$15.95

New Arrivals

Afterlives
Hell of a Book
Thousand Crimes of Ming Tsu
Immense World: How Animal Senses Reveal the Hidden Realms Around Us
Horse
Tracy Flick Can't Win
Two Wheels Good: The History and Mystery of the Bicycle
Undelivered: The Never-Heard Speeches That Would Have Rewritten History
Books of Jacob
How to Be Perfect: The Correct Answer to Every Moral Question