Other South Asia

Passage North

Passage North

Arudpragasam, Anuk
A young man journeys into Sri Lanka's war-torn north in this searing novel of longing, loss, and the legacy of war from the author of The Story of a Brief Marriage.

"A novel of...

July 13, 2021
Hardcover
Hogarth Press
$27.00
Kathmandu

Kathmandu

Bell, Thomas
One of the greatest cities of the Himalaya, Kathmandu, Nepal, is a unique blend of thousand-year-old cultural practices and accelerated urban development. In this book, Thomas Bell recounts his...
December 15, 2017
Paperback
Haus Pub.
352 Pages
$22.95
Destination Paradise: Among the Jihadists of the Maldives
A breathtaking work of political reportage steeped in a deep understanding of the roots of Islamist terrorism.

Western tourists are not always aware that the Maldives, a tiny island...

November 13, 2018
Paperback
Seven Stories Press
176 Pages
$16.95
The Ascent of Rum Doodle

The Ascent of Rum Doodle

Bowman, W E ; Bryson, Bill

The world's highest mountain awaits--and the world's worst mountaineers (this side of Monty Python) are on their way to climb to its peak.

Named by The Guardian as one of the "...

March 28, 2019
Paperback
David R. Godine Publisher
152 Pages
$15.95
DK Eyewitness Sri Lanka

DK Eyewitness Sri Lanka

Dk Eyewitness
Your journey starts here. Featuring DK's much-loved maps and illustrations, walks and information, plus all new, full-color photography, this 100% updated guide to Sri Lanka brings you the best of...
June 16, 2020
Paperback
DK Eyewitness Travel
240 Pages
$25.00
Himalaya: A Human History

For centuries, the unique and astonishing geography of the Himalaya has attracted those in search of spiritual and literal elevation: pilgrims, adventurers, and mountaineers seeking to test...

January 5, 2021
Hardcover
W. W. Norton & Company
592 Pages
$40.00
While the Gods Were Sleeping: A Journey Through Love and Rebellion in Nepal

Love and marriage brought American anthropologist Elizabeth Enslin to a world she never planned to make her own: a life among Brahman in-laws in a remote village in the plains of Nepal. As she...

September 23, 2014
Paperback
Seal Press (CA)
298 Pages
$16.00
On Sal Mal Lane

On Sal Mal Lane

Freeman, Ru

In the tradition of In the Time of the Butterflies and The Kite Runner, a tender, evocative novel about the years leading up to the Sri Lankan civil war

*...

May 20, 2014
Paperback
Graywolf Press
386 Pages
$16.00
Elephant Complex: Travels in Sri Lanka
"Brilliant." --The Daily Telegraph

No one sees the world quite like John Gimlette. In Elephant Complex, he ventures into Sri Lanka, a country only now emerging...

March 21, 2017
Paperback
Vintage
448 Pages
$17.00
Suncatcher

Suncatcher

Gunesekera, Romesh

The internationally celebrated (and Booker Prize-shortlisted) author returns with a dazzling coming-of-age story set in post-independence Sri Lanka

A master storyteller....

March 17, 2020
Hardcover
New Press
208 Pages
$24.99

New Arrivals

Leviathan Falls
Back to Japan: The Life and Art of Master Kimono Painter Kunihiko Moriguchi
Havana Year Zero
Interim
Born of No Woman
Colorization: One Hundred Years of Black Films in a White World
Monster in the Middle
Certain Hunger
Loneliest Americans
Sandor Katz's Fermentation Journeys: Recipes, Techniques, and Traditions from Around the World